Twitter Oh Twitter: Why do I care?

This week I was assigned to write 10 Twitter posts. I want, before I talk about it, to let it be known that I do not like Twitter. It may be growing on me. Or maybe I am just seeing the usefulness of it. Maybe I am just bored with what I usually waste my time with on the internet and Twitter is different. When I first heard about Twitter I laughed. Ha, hahaha. Why would anyone want to do that? I asked. I put it aside and forgot about it. Now I have had a number of my Journalism professors talk to me about Twitter and how useful a tool it is. I reconsidered. I want to do this journalism thing right. I made a Twitter account. I’ve had it for a couple of months now and these 10 tweets make up half of all of my tweets. I didn’t do it a lot. This week I had to force myself to sit down and write Twitter posts. Initially I thought Twitter was simply a bunch of people talking about what they ate for breakfast,  how it sucks to sit in traffic, or the last time they pooped. I didn’t think, and still don’t think, that this information was/is useful to anyone. Fortunately, I have learned there is more to it than that. What interests me specifically is being able to talk to, or should I say at, people who I otherwise would not be able to. I like that. I like that there is a chance they will respond. I also like the immediacy of it. Following a lot of news organization I can flip through a series of headlines and pick out which interest me. I also participated in some popular hashtag tweeting. That was interesting in itself, yet, not something I would do all the time. I can also understand why people keep doing this so much. It appears that Twitter is addicting. I can’t stop. Oh no.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

